Argentine and Barcelona star, Lionel Messi won his sixth FIFA player of the year award, while Megan Rapinoe won her first at a lavish ceremony at Milan’s iconic Teatro all Scala on Monday.

Rapinoe was rewarded at the FIFA Best awards for leading the United States to the women’s World Cup title in July, as was Jill Ellis who won the women’s coach award.

Messi’s award moved the Barcelona and Argentina forward one ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo. The Juventus forward did not attend the ceremony despite being among the three finalists.
The duo has dominated the award since 2008, with their string of victories only interrupted by Luka Modric last year.
Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk was the other finalist.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Cash Game Strategy: Late Position And Button Hand Selection – CardsChat News

PokerStove is awesome. Any poker player that’s even the slightest bit interested in …